Too Lazy To……..Get Out of Bed in the Mornings

I’m a gal who appreciates Winter.   I love being rugged up in thick jackets, pretty mittens, hands thrust in the pockets – breathing in crisp, fresh air.  Add on top of that hot chocolate, winter boots, snowboarding, fireplaces, soups and hot water bottles – what is there not to love about winter?  Well, just one thing……getting up in the mornings.  Now I haven’t quite mastered the art of this one yet (so I’d appreciate any suggestions out there!) but here are some things that have somewhat helped thus far……

1.  Setting my alarm clock for when I need to get up (and not when I wish to get up) to enable maximum snooze time.

2.  Putting the alarm close enough so that I can hear it, but far enough so that I’d have to get up to silence it.  Afterall, getting out of bed is the hardest step.

3.  Sleeping earlier (epic fail at this so far)

4.  Laying out my outfit for the day, the night before.  I know, I know, this is not favoured by those who dress according to their mood.

5.  By far, the most effective of all these strategies is having a dog.  Missie, my precious Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, will start barking at 7:30am in the morning without fail.  She is the cutest thing in the world and also as a bonus- she is the best snooze button out there!  

What do you do to help you get out of bed in the mornings?

4 comments

  1. I had to come over because of your kind comment- I am NOT a morning person. I used to be, but that has faded. Now my mornings consist of waking up at 5am for work with my husband, pat, pat, patting me to wake up. Fifteen minutes later, I zombie around the house. That’s how I wake up.

    • Thanks Aubrey – so lovely of you! 🙂 Maybe it’s something that comes with age? I used to be such a morning person too…..and then as I got older, (as you pointed out), it has eventually faded. The winter months with little light in the mornings do not assist my plight! Have a great day too.

  2. Viv, I love your 1st tip – setting the alarm for when you need to get up as opposed to when you wished you were getting up. I admit I’ve been doing that for years and the only thing it achieves is a big fat dose of GUILT first thing in the morning. Who needs it?!

    The only way I manage to get up at 5:30am on these cold wintery mornings is to place the phone far enough on the floor so that 3/4 of my body is hanging off the side of the bed in a desperate attempt to shut the alarm up. It’s impressive how fast and flexible one can be at 5:30am when their audio senses are being violated…


Leave a Reply

